Goddess of Cake


Summer Salad
June 6, 2009, 22:01
Filed under: Salad | Tags: , ,

I thought to combine the delicacies of early summer: green asparagus and rhubarb that is growing sonicely in my yard. So I made this salad with a rhubarb dressing, which was supposed to have a slightly Asian taste to it. I would have liked to have some fresh radish in the salad too, but sadly there were no available. Except for one that I found in the fridge and cut to flower for decoration…

Salad with Asparagus and a Rhubard Dressing

6 stalks of green asparagus

2 handfuls of different kinds of salad ( I had salanova and iceberg lettuce and some rucola)

1 avocado

mungbean sprouts

1 gherkin

some leaves of bloodwort for decoration

pumpkin seed

Rhubarb Dressing

2 stalks of rhubarb

1 dl water

1 tsp white balsamico

1cm x 1cm piece fresh ginger

3/4 dl muscovado sugar

1 little red onion

1 tbsp sesame oil

salt

I made the dressing by chopping the onion, the ginger and the rhubarb. Then I put in pan the rhubarb, ginger, sugar, onions and water, and let the mixture boil until the rhubarb was quite mushed. Then I added the oil and some salt.  I guess I could have put the mixture through a sieve, in order to get a really refined consistency, but I ended up using it just as it was.

I peeled the asparagus and cut out a couple of cm of the fibrous part at the bottom of the stalk.  Then I threw the stalks to 1 liter of boiling water, and boiled them for about 3 minutes, then drained out the water and rinsed them in cold water.

Then I toasted the pumpkin seeds lightly on a dry frying pan.

I assembled the salad, and served it together with some fried tofu.  The rhubarb dressing was really nice!

summer salad


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

hm. Rhubarb is near-impossible to come by around here. This looks delicous. Maybe I could find some frozen somewhere.

Comment by rootietoot




Leave a comment