Goddess of Cake


Winter Adventure
January 26, 2010, 11:33
Filed under: Baking | Tags: , , ,

I went skiing the the other day. I took my skiis, walked past the cars, shops, trams, people and the hustle and bustle of the city, until I arrived on the seashore. The sea has frozen over thickly in these past cold weeks.  It was a strange foggy day: the world had become a monochrome in black and greyish white. The snow was white, the sky was white and the frosty treetops were half hidden by white mist.  Skiing in that vast flat expanse of whiteness made me feel like inside a glass of milk (well, vegan milk..). Then the sun started to set, and everything got a lovely pink sheen.

I skied past the island that is my secret place for summer evening swims. It has a dodgy old pier and there is hardly anyone there but for some sheep, so it is nice and private. It looked so different now with the snowy trees!  It was easy to forget that the city was breathing right behind my back. I was the only moving,  colourful, rustling little presence on the vast expance of white ice.

For I while, I played with the idea that I was brave Mr. Amundsen skiing towards the South Pole,  though the fact that it was only – 15ºC didn’t quite match my fantasy.  Also, I lacked a pack of gorgeous blue -eyed huskies and a sleigh. Is my notion of antarctic exploration perhaps slightly over – romanticised?  Anyhow,  any explorer knows that the rations are very important for endurance. I bet Mr. Amundsen did not have as nice rations as I did: freshly baked scones and hot herbal tea!

Pear and Ginger Scones

I’ve never baked scones in my life before. I found a recipe in everybody likes sandwiches, which is a beautiful Canadian blog. I modified it a little. I also learned from the internet that it is important that the margarine and the milk are cold, in order to avoid the baking powder to start to work too early. You should also try to keep the kneading of the dough to the minimum.  I used fresh grated ginger in these scones, but the surprising thing about fresh ginger and baked goods is that somehow the taste just disappears in the oven. So if you like ginger, feel free to add some.

1 dl  shredded coconut

2 dl all purpose flour

1 dl graham flour

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

3 tsp grated fresh ginger

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

a pinch of bourbon vanilla powder

1 ripe pear, diced

1/2 dl dried cranberries

1 tsp ground cardamom

50 g vegetable margarine

2 dl oat milk + 1 tsp for topping

2 tsp  demerara sugar for topping

I toasted the coconut on a dry pan, in order to enhance the flavour. It burns easily, so watch out! Then I combined the dry ingredients in a bowl, cut in the margarine and mixed with my fingers until I got a crumbly mixture, and folded in the diced pear and cranberries.  Then I blended in the oat milk. I patted the ready dough onto a lightly floured surface, so that it was about 3 cm thick and cut round shapes using a form. You could use a glass etc. or just cut triangles.

I baked the scones in 200°C 15 minutes. Ideally, the scones should be devoured fresh from the oven plate, or at least eaten the same day. Wrap them into a shawl if you want to bring them with you out to arctic environments. I was pleasantly surprised with my scones: I always thought that scones are somehow dry and boring, but at least these ones were moist and tasty.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

All that snow looks so exotic from here (I actually would like to spend a few days in snow just now…)
The scones sound and look really lovely!

Comment by Yaelian

Oh yes, the snow almost feels exotic from here too, since there really hasn’t been this much snow in many years. I’m enjoying a proper winter tremendously!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

We have only – 6°C here right now and not that much snow anymore, but those scones would be great right now!
Really beautiful winter pictures!

Comment by mihl

Well, I guess you can eat some without a skiing trip attached 🙂

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

These look delicious! I ahve never baked scones either, but you are making me want to try!

Comment by fresh365

Thanks! You should try, it was rewarding!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

oh, my! i believe you are writing my new favorite blog! i too, have romanticized versions of arctic exploration complete with a team of huskies! *sigh* these scones look incredible!

Comment by gardenmama

Thanks! That’s so nice of you! Well a sleigh – trip with huskies is something to look forward to, then 😉

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

Scones sound like the perfect weekend activity. Happy weekend, Salla!

Comment by tiina

Thank you Tiina! Happy weekend to you too!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake




Leave a Reply

