Goddess of Cake


Hello Darkness, My Old Friend
September 15, 2009, 10:28
Filed under: Baking, Drinks | Tags: , , , , ,

I must admit it: the summer is over. Last week me and my neighbours finally put back the corridor windows that we have been repairing the whole summer (or, to be honest, my neighbours much more than me). The day was warm, but it didn’t feel like the last summer day, but like the first one in autumn. Suddenly, the night fell at half past eight, and it caught me up right when I was picking the apples and plums that lie all over my yard. The neighbours were fixing the last window, and the lights were on in the corridors. I stood in the darkness of the yard, and listened to the crazy autumn wind blowing all over the place, and to the faint traffic noises of my new home city. I am scared of the winter and the darkness it brings, and the long winter nights. How will I deal with it now that I live by myself?

windows

I was trying to cheer up by thinking: Colourful leaves! Lingonberries! Mushrooms! But it didn’t really help. I felt like the Tove Jansson’s Moomin – book character Nuuskamuikkunen, Snufkin. When the autumn comes, he lifts his backback, plays a little tune on his flute and leaves who knows where, to perhaps return with the sun. Don’t we all just love him, we who cannot leave our commitments.

autumn harvest

I shivered, even if it wasn’t cold, picked up the bucket of apples and went inside. There I saw my reflection in the mirror: a yellow leaf had stuck into my hair. There was no way but to admit the facts: I went to the calendar and turned the page from August to September, 10 days late.

Apple, Carrot and Ginger Juice

My mom brought me this juicer that I guess originates from the 70’s. It is a funky thing, though notoriously hard to clean. In the apple season I love it, since freshly made apple juice is just so good. This is my favourite flavour combination:

For 1 big glass you need:

1 carrot

3 small apples

2x2cm piece of ginger

Throw it all in the juicer, and then mix the resulting juice with a spoon. No need to peel anything. If you like ginger, you can very well add some. This works really well for that gloomy autumn feeling…

carrotjuice

Apple and White Currant Pie

This pie is like the apple pies made in the States, and doesn’t resemble a Finnish apple pie at all, since the Finnish pies are never covered like the American ones. This recipe is a vegan version of this recipe, though since the apples that grow in my yard are sadly not of the tangy variety, so I replaced some apples with white currants, in order to create a similar effect. For jams and similar things tangy and hard apple varieties are most suitable, and of the Finnish varieties e.g. Antonovka is good.

The Pie Batter

150 g vegetable margarine

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp sugar

4 1/2 wheat flour

1 dl ice cold water

The Filling:

10 small apples

2,5 dl white currants

1 3/4 dl sugar with added pectin

1/2 tsp nutmeg

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp wheat flour

1 tbsp vegetable margarine

First, I made the pie batter. I simply mixed first the dry ingredients and then added the margarine and til last the cold water. Then I put the batter into the fridge for about half an hour.

Then I made the filling: I sliced the apples and removed the seeds. Then I mixed in the rest of the ingredients, except for the margarine.

Then I divided the batter into two, and rolled it out using a rolling pin so that it would fit a round baking tin (24cm in diameter) that I had greased and floured earlier. I had the batter in between two layers of baking parchment, and it helped a lot with the process. Then I filled the pie, added the margarine in a few lumps on top, rolled the other part of the batter, and covered the pie. The edges I squeezed together and then made a few holes on top the pie with a fork.

I grated the pie in the oven in 200°C for 15 minutes, and then lowered the heat to 175°C for 45 minutes.

apple pie2

As a footnote, I ran into this concept in the internet: a veggie trader! Isn’t that a good idea! In the harvest time those people with red currant bushes, apple, plum or cherry trees, or zucchini plants, are usually in trouble with all the produce, like me with the apples. At Veggie Trader you can find people to swap your produce with! We should have that here too, because that is also one way to overrule the wholesalers that dominate our food consumption today.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice autumn harvest! I did not very much like autumn while still living in Finland;it reminded me too much of the end of summer,but the nature is very plentiful this time of the year.
Mehulinko onkin hyvä väline! Mullakin on sellaine,pitää vaan kamalaa ääntä!

Comment by Yaelian

This tiny harvest is all grown on my yard, except for the sea – buckthorn berries that I picked elsewhere in the neighbourhood. You can grow and forage a lot of food in a city too! And I agree, the juicer is really noisy..

Comment by goddessofcake

One more thing.. I just got reminded of the fact that Snufkin doesn’t play flute but a harmonica. Sorry!

Comment by goddessofcake




Leave a Reply

