Goddess of Cake


Just Another Hippie Treat
June 29, 2009, 20:06
Filed under: Sweets | Tags: , , ,

mint chocolate ball

Presently, I am cooking for a bunch of Alternative People of  Finland. They have decided to make a movie about Kalevala – the Finnish National ephic poem – and wanting to make it hit the box offices big time too. They just went to do some shooting to an island, and among the food that I made for them was this little hippie treat:

Mint Chocolate Balls

(about 20 pieces)

300 g vegetable margarine

2,5 dl brown sugar

5 dl oat flakes

1 dl cocoa powder

1 dl fresh peppermint (chopped)

2 dl grated coconut

This is so simple to make: I chopped the mint finely, mixed all the ingredients, and then made balls of it,  and rolled them a bit on plate that was filled with grated coconut.

We’ll see about the movie…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yum! I’ve never seen a sweet treat with fresh mint in it, and I happen to have access to a garden with a lot of it right now… I wonder if I could use some coconut oil and salt instead of the margarine?

Comment by Angela

I’m sure you could do that, actually I’m also sure it would taste lovely too! Finland is this great margarine country, we eat a lot of that stuff here, since we are all brainwashed that it is healthy.
One thing that I forgot to mention is that you should only use the leaves of mint, not the stalks, since the stalks are really hard and fibrous. But this might be obvious to all other people but me..

Comment by goddessofcake

Hih leffalle ja mmmm palleroisille. 🙂 Olisi ihana nähdä, tuletkos käymään joku päivä?

Comment by Suvi




Leave a Reply

