Goddess of Cake


Smoky Capsicum Soup
May 18, 2009, 22:24
Filed under: Cooking | Tags: , ,

I had a lot of capsicums the other day and even if I have a strange distaste for capsicums I wanted to try to make a soup out of them. I have seen recently many recipes for a soup that includes capsicums that are lightly grilled and decided to make one of those. I was moving out of my house and to a new city the following day, so everything was rather chaotic, but somehow I managed to get the soup done.  Btw, I guess they can be called pepper too, but I got used to the name capsicum in Australia.

capsicum soup

Soup with Grilled Capsicums

6 capsicums

3 onions

2 cloves of garlic

25 g tomato puree

1 dl oat cream

1 tsp chilli flakes

2 tsp Pimenton de la Vera, dulce (sweet, smoked paprika powder)

1 l water

2 tsp vegetable stock powder

Olive oil for frying

salt to taste

First I chopped the capsicums in halves,  removed the seeds and put them on an oven plate. I sprikled them lightly with salt and olive oil and grilled them in 250°C  in the upper part of the oven. I had the oven turned on so that the heat would come from the top the oven.  I reckoned the capsicums ready when they started to get some black marks on them.

Meanwhile I had also chopped the onion and the garlic finely. I fried them in a cooking pot in olive oil, and added the chilli flakes and the sweet paprika. After that I added also the capsicums, the water, tomato puree and the vegetable stock powder. Then I let the soup simmer for about 20 minutes, or until the capsicums felt soft. Then I pureed the soup with a hand held mixer and added the oat cream and some salt. We ate the soup with Iiris with some non – vegan yoghurt we stole from my other room mate, because I had slightly overestimated the amount of chili. Otherwise the soup was nice, especially if you like capsicums. Even I got somehow used to the taste…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A question- what you are calling capsicum, is that what I, in the USA would call a bell pepper (very sweet and mild, eaten green, yellow, orange or red)?Or is it something else, like a poblano?

Comment by rootietoot

Bell pepper it is!

Comment by goddessofcake

[…] and there is also a Red Soup – with Bell Pepper and Smoke Flavour. The recipe is here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Working hard in the soup kitchenCourt rules pork […]

Pingback by Soup Kitchen « Goddess of Cake




Leave a Reply

