Goddess of Cake


Pink Beetroot Pasta for the Birthday Girl
March 12, 2009, 21:17
Filed under: Cooking | Tags: , , ,

Since today is my birthday, I thought I very well deserve a bit of comfort food, not that I would need it though!  So I made pasta with lovely pink beetroot pesto. It is a very slightly modified recipe from a previous issue of Glorian ruoka ja viini, a Finnish gourmet magazine. In this pasta I like especially the colour and how fast and easy it is to prepare.

pink-pasta2

Beetroot pesto (4 portions)

Ingredients:

2 beetroots, chopped

½ an onion, chopped

water for cooking

1 clove of garlic

1 ½ tblsp of balsamic vinegar

2 tsp salt

1 potted basil plant, or 2 dl fresh basil leaves

½ dl pine kernels

1dl olive oil

First I boil the beetroot in a shallow amount of water until done (about 20 min), and fry the onion on a frying pan, with a little olive oil. Then I drain off the cooking water from the beets, and mix them with onions and other ingredients, using a hand held mixer. Then I boil a little whole wheat pasta and mix the pesto together with it. This time I was actually using strawberry vinegar instead of red wine balsamic vinegar, but I don’t think it contributed much in the end result.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations to the birthday girl! The recipe sounds wonderfully simple and delicious, and you know I just bought some beetroots and wondered what to do with them 🙂

Comment by Hanna

Hi Salla, what a lovely blog you’ve started! Your pesto looks extra delicious too.

Comment by Heikki




Leave a Reply

