Goddess of Cake


Red Thoughts on Valentine’s Day
February 13, 2010, 19:42
Filed under: Baking | Tags: , , , ,

An open heart is something to I’d like to wish everyone, open to hold the world, open for freedom and commitment both. No sweet Valentine’s gifts from me, no junk to show that I care. Since I don’t, at least about any businesspeople getting rich with people’s earnest needs to be loved and cared for.  Or maybe I’m just bitter since the only Valentine’s Day greeting that I can count on comes from dear Maman? But a pair of lovely yellow mittens, knitted with guaranteed love to protect my hands is not bad at all, maybe enough to turn my hardened heart a bit soft on Valentine’s Day… So suddenly I found myself thinking about red food, and about a pretty red cake, and maybe a pink smoothie to go with it.

Being not keen at all on artificial colourings and such I went for dear old beetroot in search of a red hue (did you know that beetroot can be used to make a home made lip gloss?). My previous experiences with beetroot baking had not been so very splendid, so a retake was in order.  But alas, after baking my oh – so – pretty pink batter  I found out that the insides of my reddish beetroot cupcakes were a shade of a bright yellow! Yellow is the colour of envy and jealousy, versus red as the colour of love and passion.  Perhaps not the message you should convey on Valentine’s Day…

Beetroot Cupcakes with Hazelnut and Chocolate Spread

16 pieces

4 dl wheat flour

1 dl sugar

1 beetroot

1 tsp baking soda

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp egg replacer (optional)

1 tsp vanilla powder

1 tsp ginger powder

1/2 dl shredded coconut, toasted on a dry pan

1 dl oil

2 dl oat cream

1 dl oat milk

1 tsp strawberry vinegar

The Icing

120 g hazelnuts

1 dl coconut oil

1 dl powdered sugar

1 dl cocoa powder

a dash of vanilla

a pinch of salt

I wanted the beetroot to be as finely grated as possible, so I used my funky juicer from the 70′s.  I juiced the beetroot, and combined the juice and the left over beetroot pulp, which resulted about 1 dl of beetroot mush.  I mixed this mush with the rest of the wet ingredients.  Then I combined in bowl the dry ingredients, and added the wet. I poured the batter into muffin forms and baked the cupcakes about 20 minutes in a 200°C oven.

The icing is kind of a homemade Nutella. I made it by first grinding the hazelnuts in a food processor until powdered, and then adding the rest of the ingredients. I put this to the fridge to cool and harden a bit, though it is a bit tricky to handle if it is too cool, especially if you want to pipe it.  If it is too warm,  it will be runny and cannot be piped either.

Red Berry Smoothie

This is an obvious recipe, but maybe worth remembering that in the long run it maybe healthier for your heart than chocolates (would dear Maman say).

1 mango

1 dl frozen red currants

1/2 dl cashews, soaked overnight

1 dl oat milk

1 tsp lucuma

1 tsp maca

Blend all the ingredients!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I assume that your cupcakes were very tasty! A really lovely hue before going to the oven, pity the oven destroys the color. Hyvää ystävänpäivää!

Comment by Yaelian

They were tasty! I’m still thinking about the colour, since I’m quite sure once I ate beetroot cake at a party and it was totally red… maybe it was the dim lighting or more beetroot in the batter.. Hyvää ystävänpäivää sinullekin!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

What a nice cupcake recipe! Beetroot is so versatile and definitely a great Valentine’s Day ingredient.

Comment by Okriina

Thank you Okriina! I got the idea of using the juicer when I read about your raw beetroot soup (I was very hard trying to comment on it, but system was somehow cranky..) Beetroot seems to be the trendy ingredient these days!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

Those cupcakes look adorable!

Comment by mihl

Thanks Mihl!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake

I don’t care if they’re red, those cupcakes look so tasty! Yellow hearts here too :)

Comment by Angela

They were quite tasty, you can actually taste the beetroot… Well, I still think red is nicer colour than yellow!

Comment by Salla@Goddess of Cake




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

